It’s a…BOY!

So the last week or so has been the most wild, crazy, hectic, chaotic, AMAZING week of our lives!  As I type this I am sitting in a hotel room in Phoenix, AZ waking up after an evening of playing with OUR SON!  So, I know a lot of you are thinking, “whoa, this came out of nowhere!”…well join the club!   It has been a whirlwind of an adventure and a story that could ONLY be written by God himself.  So, before I get into the details here’s the most important detail of all- We are adopting the most precious, adorable, cuddly, curly headed little 20 month old boy named Sebastian!

You read that right…a 20 month old.  Shocked?  Me too!  When JD and I started this whole process we went into it thinking we would be brining home a newborn.  It is after all the reason we decided to adopt domestically instead of internationally.  We were a little intimidated by the thought of bringing an older child home and wanted to start with an infant for our first child…don’t you love how God does exactly what He wants to do regardless of what we plan for ourselves?!

So fast forward to the last month or so when JD and I decided to apply to a new agency after months of inactivity on the adoption front.  Our consultant, Susan, strongly recommended Adoption Choices of Arizona so we decided to fill out the paperwork and sent in our application and see what happened.  Well, after my initial conversation with Liz from the agency I KNEW we were in the right place (side note:  you guys, if you are in the process of, or think you might want to adopt, give them a call!  They are amazing!).  We sent our application in on November 7th and actually presented to a birth mother on November 9th.  This particular birth mother made the decision to parent so JD and I continued in our waiting game.  Then, on Friday November 18th I got the phone call that changed my world FOREVER!   The agency was calling with little to no details about a 20 month old little boy they were in the process of picking up…I did not know anything about him or his situation, but instantly I just FELT this was my baby.  After talking with JD we let the agency know we were interested in more details and on Tuesday the 22nd we got those details and saw our first picture of Sebastian and it was O.V.E.R.  He was heavy on our hearts and we decided to move forward and present our profile as one of the potential families to adopt Sebastian.  We got the official call last Saturday and since then things have been going non-stop!

I CANNOT even begin to put into words all of the ways we have seen God’s goodness and sovereignty in even the smallest of details over the past week.  I could write for HOURS upon HOURS detailing all the incredible things He has orchestrated in order to bring us here.  I am so overwhelmed by Him and what He has done I do not even know where to start so let me just say this:  TO GOD BE THE GLORY!  HE IS GOOD!!

We arrived in Phoenix yesterday and at around 4:00 PM yesterday we got to meet our little boy!  He has been in cradle care with, Jessica, one of the directors of the agency and so we went over to her house to meet him in an environment he was familiar with.  As I drove from our hotel to her house I knew the Lord was with us and that it would all be fine, but there was a small part of me that feared Sebastian would see us and start screaming/crying/running away from us.  Y’all, I can hardly see the computer screen right now through the tears I have in my eyes reliving how INCREDIBLE our first moments with Sebastian were.  God was ALL over that meeting!  As soon as Jessica opened the door Sebastian saw us and smiled the biggest smile and IMMEDIATELY reached out for me to hold him.  JD and I were able to spend the next few hours playing, cuddling and giggling with Sebastian!  If everything goes well today at our transitional meeting we should be able to bring him back to the hotel with us and start our lives together as a little family of 3!

I know things will be crazy over the next couple weeks as we all make the biggest adjustment of our lives…I cannot believe I am going from no kids to a TODDLER!  I will try and find time to post updates, but right now our priority is Sebastian and doing everything we can make him feel safe and loved.

Here are some ways you can pray:
1.  Prayers of thanksgiving!
2.  For Sebastian as his world continues to change-from being with his birth mother, then going to cradle care, then to a hotel, then back home to get settled in.  This is A LOT for such a little guy so please pray protection over his heart.
3. JD and I as we learn how to be parents…of a toddler! 🙂
4.  The legalities of the adoption
5.  That we would obtain ICPC clearance quickly so we can return home without any significant delays.

A lot of people have asked what they can do to help, right now we have the basics and what we need thanks to our AMAZING family, friends, church family, co-workers.  Once we get back and settled in I will let you know what we need and I will also be launching some new fundraising events to help us cover the costs of this adoption!  Right now we just ask for your prayers

Over the last few days there have been two things constantly running through my head.  First, as I try and comprehend everything that has happened (not just this week, but over the course of our journey to parenthood) the lyric “God blessed the broken road that led me straight to you” has been on repeat in my head.  That could have been my whole blog post as it sums up my feelings PERFECTLY.

Also, as we have ventured down a road we never even imagined I cannot help but be reminded of Isaiah 55:8-9:

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.  “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”

AMEN

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s a…BOY!

  1. patti and mike saucier says:

    So excited for all of you! One of our boys is adopted, I was so nervous because I didn’t know one thing about taking care of a baby at 34 years old. My best friend told me “it’s not having a baby that makes you a mother, it’s taking care of him.” True words! Blessings to you and your family on your new journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

